foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I just purchased the first book I plan to read in 2010: Robota, by Doug Chiang and Orson Scott Card. Hardcover, purchased for three bucks at Big Lots this evening. Woohoo! Gorgeous illustration, which is the reason I snagged it in the first place. Can't wait to read...

Also hardcover, also three bucks, Artist to Artist: 23 Major Illustrators Talk to Children About Their Art for hubs!monkey. I've been trying to gently prod him back to his art (he's quite a talented illustrator), so far with not much success. But! He seemed pleased with the book, so it goes in the "win" column. :-)

Missed 'Heroes' last night because I AM A DOOFUS. I kept thinking there was something I wanted to DVR, but nothing came to mind. Saw something this morning while at work and went, argh! Heroes!!! Luckily for me, the episode was all loaded up on Prime Time on Demand this evening, just waiting for me. I loooooooove DVR and ondemand channels. And if you're curious...yes, I started watching 'Heroes' because I fell in love with the fabulous Zachary Quinto as reboot!Spock. I love Sylar!!! He needs to be in every episode, and he needs to have at least thirty minutes of screen time. Yessssssss.

Rounding out my Post o' Random... Hmmmm. I forgot. Edited to add: Now I remember.

The hubs and I have been hanging quietly all evening, him with crossword puzzles and WWII movies, me with the laptop. The kitties are very peacefully snoozing. All is calm, all is bright.

So...I'm about to plug in the iPod, and I wondered how long it would take for hubs to suddenly find a million and one things to discuss. Hahahaha! Twenty seconds! He just asked me a crossword clue. Aiiiiiiiiiiiiii! Okay, the iPod is on pause, and he's said nothing further. I'm about to hit 'Play'. We'll see what happens.

Stabbing's bad, right?
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
If you haven't checked out the Google doodle honoring Sir Isaac Newton's birthday, you should. This is definitely one of their best! I glanced away at a crucial moment the first time I loaded it up, so keep that in mind. :-) As an avid fan of Google's doodles, I was pretty geeked out when I saw it.

And! Man, I leave for a few months (hahahahahaha, eighteen maybe, but who's counting), and Rupert Grint goes and gets himself all growed up. The best part? Even though my handbasket's all polished up and ready for the inevitable road trip to hell, I won't need it. I don't have to feel like a perv anymore! He's 21...whee!!! He has two indie movies set for 2010 release, Cherrybomb and Wild Target. While I'm very much anticipating both, I can't wait to see him in Cherrybomb. What a puuuuuuuuuurty young man he is. Hey, I'm not made of stone, people. Said one reviewer of Ron Weasley: "[he] has become a muscular, appealing man child, who is catnip to the ladies." purrrrrrrrr.

01/01/10.

Jan. 2nd, 2010 01:29 am
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
So...a year and a half since I last posted. Aiiii! It's been an interesting eighteen months, to be sure -- not always in good ways. I've been away for various reasons: my laptop got all virused-up, the desktop had issues, there was a lapse in home internet access...there were goofy Psychological Issues involved, and other stuff as well. As Bette Davis once said, it's been a bumpy ride.

I need to BIG TIME apologize to someone mentioned in my last post (oddly enough), the should-have-been recipient of my never-written JuC Swap story. As I mentioned in that post, I had a fabulous assignment, someone I truly liked, someone I'd met and hung out with in the real life. It was a dream assignment. At that point it had been a while since I'd written the boys and I wanted to write them again. Only thing is, the more I tried, the more I couldn't.

It kind of reminds me of a story a friend told me about a friend of ours. She was late once with her mortgage payment. The later the payment became, the more terrified she was of making the late payment. Eventually -- believe it or not -- she was four months behind before it finally clicked in her brain. If I remember the story correctly, what clicked in her brain was a representative from the mortgage company showing up at her house. That sounds odd, but then again, it was about ten years ago and anything's possible, I suppose. Anyway.

So. Not being able to write turned into avoiding email and OH MY GOD, what the hell is wrong with me!? And much like my friend with the late mortgage payment, by the time I realized that the fic would not be happening, it was (in my twisted brain) too late to pull out gracefully. Which brings me to the other apology that's way overdue; I should have emailed the Swap organizers to let them know what was going on so a replacement writer could be found. Aiii! I'm a bastage. Ladies, I apologize. Should-have-been recipient...I apologize.

Edited to add, because I'm apparently a total numbnuts: Scotty, I apologize.

Avoiding email meant checking about once every two weeks, then once a month and that turned into forgetting my password, which turned into completely losing the email account that I've been using since I joined fandom. :: boggles :: I'm royally screwed because when I set up the account I was verra, verra new to the internet and was a little suspicious of such things, so I gave false personal info while filling in those blanks (I was assured by someone at the time that it made no difference). As a result, when Yahoo! recently asked me to verify myself by giving the birthdate I gave when I set up the account...I couldn't. I have *no* idea what I filled out way back then. It cut like a knife when I realized that I'll probably never be able to access that account again. So. In various ways I have shafted myself (and others!) ten ways from Sunday, fandomwise.

Anyway. I've been wanting to get back to LJ, I've been thinking about it quite a bit. This is a first step in that direction.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Swap assignments went out yesterday, and I am quite pleased with mine.

In other news, Obama only needs four delegates to put a lock on the nomination. Yayness! I turned to CNN hoping to see Obama, but instead they're showing John McCain addressing supporters in Louisiana. Sorry if he's your guy, but McClain seriously creeps me out. ::eeeeeeeeeeee!::

I missed JC on the red carpet! I missed Christian Siriano gushing over how gorgeous the Chasez is! Dammit.

Yay, they're leaving McCain...to announce that Obama now has enough delegates to clinch the nomination. Wow, history in the making, and I'm watching it. I HELPED MAKE HISTORY! I wish Mom and Dad had lived to see this. :-)
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Ahhh, cruising along on my laptop again, for the first time in a little over year (!). I downloaded a nice little bit of spyware (SpyVampire, the BASTARD), that hosed my machine up *big* time. The thing wiped out all of my system restore points and resisted my efforts to repair the operating system. I'd meant to take it to professional fix-it guys, but never did; I finally bit the bullet yesterday and decided to try a complete system reinstall. I figured that I could always take it to professionals if I bungled things, but...YAY! IT WORKED! I'm inordinately pleased with myself.

ANYWAY. I'm currently watching cheesy movies courtesy of the SciFi Channel. I'm trying to decide what I want to do of a fannish nature today. Get my writing journal up to date? Cruise my friends page and see what's going on? Try to find the disks for the desk computer and get that squared away as well? HAHAHAHA, that sounds like too much work. I think I'll just veg here on the bed with my laptop and the cats and watch awful movies...
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
OY! Yes, still alive (again). Wonky computer issues have kept me away; I'm currently hooked up to the computer my husband bought the new computer to replace. Fun times! Somehow or other one of the drivers in the newer computer stopped functioning and then I may have deleted the program and now I have to find the CDs so that I can repair that mistake. ::headdesk:: I'm a doof. ANYWAY!

YAY! Supernatural season finale rocked like a rockin' thing. The writers are so on point with this show that it isn't funny. I think the only thing I would love to have seen that we didn't, was a hug or some small form of touch between the brothers before going they're VERY separate ways. Still, the emotion! Nothing I've ever seen tops this show for manly emotion.

YAY! Friggin' braying ass Russell T. Davies has left Doctor Who! Oddly enough, one of my favorite Martha communities doesn't have a reaction post about this. Is that verboten now??? Color me confused. :-( Still, YAY!

YAY! I signed up for the JuC Swap. I shall now wander away to gather more information about...stuff.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Supernatural is clearly the best show on television -- and this may just go down as one of my favorite episodes of the best show on television. (I've already watched it twice!) My thoughts after the cut, but first: it's ridiculous how much squee I get out of the Impala sporting Ohio license plates. ::rocker face and devil horns hands:: DEAN! )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Whee! [livejournal.com profile] feenie you were right; my fluttery eyeballs are probably the result of stress and/or too little sleep. YAY!!! My eyes look fine. :-) Other than a stronger prescription (HAHAHAHA, aging, not funny), everything's great. :-D Surfing the internet with dilated pupils is completely NOT recommended, so I shall wrap this up and go watch TV. Or something.

LJ as message board: DONNA! SUPERNATURAL DVDS HAVE BEEN ACHIEVED! YAY! [insert "Wind Beneath My Wings" here] Hmmm, watching Jensen Ackles do his thing sounds like a mighty fine way to soothe my eyes. ;-)

YAY! NOT BLIND! YAY! SOOPERNATCHUL!!!
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Haven't posted much lately because my eyes are being really weird. I'm WAY overdue for an exam, and I'm definitely feeling the effects of eyestrain. Not so much the grittiness, which is the usual when my eyes are tired, but the flutteriness as is usual when they're *really, really* tired. You know it must have been bad if I finally broke down and scheduled an appointment! Originally scheduled for this past Monday but work hilarity (HAHAHAHA, hear me laughing?) caused me to postpone, so I'll be going this coming Monday instead. YAY, muchly overdue! Hopefully I haven't eyestrained myself into premature blindness or some such.

Newsflash: Favorite boycat is tearing around like a wild thing. What the hell, kid? For half a second there I thought he was chasing a mouse, but he's just being hyper and strange.

For real newsflash...FRIGGIN' YAYNESS, the funds purloined by asshole VISA cardnumber thief were refunded by the SierraTradingPost.com people today! Whee! :-D Had a minor heart attack at first when I saw the statement, thinking it was yet another purchase! Strange though, that they didn't refund the tax (or the shipping, perhaps a combination?). YAY, YAY, YAY!!! I am extremely pleased about this, and feel the need to purchase some small leather goods to celebrate. Hmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
If today weren't Friday I'd have a freakin' meltdown.

Ugly surprise number one: Logged into my bank account this morning and thought the balance looked waaaaaay low. A quick scan of the recent transactions showed an 816.00 charge to SierraTradingPost.com. WEH!?

I was shaking and livid and wanted to disembowel someone when I saw that charge. EIGHT HUNDRED AND SIXTEEN FRIGGIN' DOLLARS. Absolute sons-o'-bitchin' bastards! Called the bank right away and blocked the card. Went to the branch this afternoon to fill out an affidavit, and the bank will take it from there. I was *so* friggin' pissed off, you wouldn't believe it.

Ugly surprise number two: Probate lawyer called this afternoon (just as I was calming down about Ugly surprise number one) to tell me that Bro!monkey has apparently sold his half of our inheritance (read: the house we grew up in) to one of those lump sum companies.

OH MY GOD, the anger. I was more pissed off about that than the fraudulent charge on my credit card! He never said a word, and he's talked to my lawyer a couple of times and never mentioned it to him, either. Luckily, the deed's still in estate and hasn't been changed to our names yet, so I still have a little control, according to my tax lawyer/probate guy.

I've moved from feelings of deep, profound anger and betrayal to feelings of deep, profound disappointment. I'm pissed that no one knew about this til the lawyer got the papers in the mail today. I'm disappointed that he didn't just man up and tell me about it beforehand. I'm deeply disappointed because this is the latest in a string of incidents that makes me wonder what happened to the little boy who was my best friend when we were growing up. It's like...the portion of what I think of as my brother is just a thin shell surrounding some bizarre core of weirdness that I don't even know anymore. I'm pretty sure I'm done with him.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Just to restate: I friggin' love Google. I want to marry it and have its babies and...yes. I love Google.

Virgle: The Adventure of Many Lifetimes

I love Google.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
In other news, I'm cycling through Supernatural seasons one and two again. For maybe the third time. ::looks shifty:: I can't believe I have to wait until April 24th to see new episodes, and I *really* can't believe that I have to wait until GOD KNOWS WHEN to get the season three DVDs!!! Why aren't these people showing reruns??? I'd clear out my entire DVR qeue to make room, seriously. Bastards. ;-p Man, I love this show.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
As it aired, I did my usual note-taking thing... LJ cut for freshness... )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I realized the other day that I'd neglected to post my thoughts on the 'Adam' episode of Torchwood. Not that anyone cares or anything, but as a half-assed completist, I felt driven to note my thoughts for posterity. And here's an LJ-cut because, like Dean Winchester and Martha Jones (and *there's* a freakishly gorgeous crossover pairing I'd love to see), I AM MADE OF AWESOME. I'm humble too. )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Okay, I disappear for a few days and stuff happens, Chasez-wise? Weh? So he's...not gay? He was on Tyra yesterday/today? Again, weh?

Chasez, I don't care who the hell you sleep with, just make me some damn music.

Also, how cute was he on America's Best Dance Judge last week? The whole Bye, Bye, Bye thing? So cute! I have no rants about Lil Mama because I've begun muting the sound when her idiot ass appears on my screen.

To recap:

1) Chasez, still adorable.
2) Chasez, straight. I suppose.
3) Lil Mama, still an idiot.

Yep, I think that covers everything.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
ROFLMAO! This is one of my favorite episodes, hands down.

Dean on the vibrating bed, totally blissed out, bummed when the vibrating ends. Asks Sam if he has any quarters. LOL!

Dean, waiting for Sam, glances rather dolefully at the non-vibrating bed. When Sam comes in, Dean looks at the non-vibrating bed and asks Sam if he got quarters while he was out. *Love* that totally jonesin' look that flickers over his face for a second while he's looking at the bed. ROFLMAO!

This has got to be the funniest thing ever. Please, please tell me the Magic Fingers fetish comes up again, because that's waaaaay too good to be a one-shot deal.

Oh Dean, you beautiful, freaky boy, I love you so.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Thoughts on last week's Torchwood (Martha's first guest ep!), nabbed from email I sent [livejournal.com profile] scot_ty:

Okay, now why haven't the rest of the episodes been like this? Good team interaction, and DAMMIT, THEY'RE MAKING ME LIKE FORMERLY-CREEPY, NOW-HUMAN OWEN. Bastiges. ;-p The flirting and teasing were waaaay cute, and I think it had just the right touch. Jack was back to himself, YAY!, and the episode was very nicely paced. A couple of things niggled, of course.

Gwen. I'm so tired of this Jack-fascination that I could scream. Martha's been in the Hub for twenty hot seconds before Gwen's asking questions about Jack. Is this woman engaged or not? At this point I wish they'd just cut her ties to Rhys and be done with it; it was annoying before but it's starting to give me a really creepy vibe. I want to make my peace with Gwen. They've given me a Gwen that I like, but this stalkerish obsession with Jack keeps setting her back a couple of paces. Why do they do this?

Tosh. Wide-eyed Tosh practically begging Owen for a date. It was sad before, now it's just creepy. Well, creepy and sad. And really, really creepy.

Waaaaay off the cuteness scale: Eve Myles in the actor interviews saying that it was lovely having Freema there, that it was nice having another girlie on set. OH MY GOD I NEARLY EXPLODED WITH THE CUTE. The look on her face was just adorable. :-)

/email

Martha was completely awesome and I love her like mad. Your mileage may vary. ;-) And now my as-it-aired notes... )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I'm pretty sure I've witnessed at least two "Oh, DEAN" episodes. More manly tears! More manly shmoop! Brotherly devotion and fatherly devotion and stuff! Making deals with demons and MANLY TEARS!!! I'm buying season three as soon as it's available.

Can't say I'm that I'm in love with the Harvelles; if I never saw them again I wouldn't be too broken up about it. The Ash character is interesting in theory, but somehow, I'm just not buying it. All in all, if the boys never go to the Roadhouse again, I won't miss it.

Most of the episodes have been enjoyable, there's only been one that felt like a bit of a throwaway. One ep out of 30+ isn't bad at all!

Also, Jensen Ackles is just insanely, ridiculously beautiful -- much like Jason Momoa. Also, like Jason Momoa, I *love* watching him work. Supernatural! YAY!!!
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Halfway through the season one episodes, and OH MY GOD, MASSIVE, MASSIVE LOVE FOR THIS SHOW.

For a scary minute there I thought I'd just purchased 88.00 worth of "Pretty Girl of the Week" DVDs, but things picked up. YAYNESS!

My favorite non-Winchester character so far is Missouri Mosely, who kicks serious, major ass. Missouri Mosely is awesome. If I found myself transported into the show, I wouldn't want to be Random Hook-up Girl of the Episode (even if mackin' on Dean would be sweet, sweet, sweet), I'd want to be Missouri Mosely. LOVE HER. Fingers crossed that she makes at least one more appearance between now and the last of my season two DVDs. ::hopes::

DEAN WAS IN LOVE! Holy frijoles, big brother fell hard! I loved Megalyn Echikunwoke as Isabelle in The 4400, so you can imagine my pleased surprise when she appeared onscreen, and even more pleased and surprised when she turned out to be the love (so far, at least that I've seen) of Dean's life. Yay! Isabelle Cassie gets the hot boy! Being pulled into Supernatural-world as Cassie wouldn't be so bad either. YAYNESS!

Absolute genius casting Jeffrey Dean Morgan as the dad. He's good-looking but not too pretty, just rough enough without looking fakely rugged (ugh), and best of all, it's not a stretch to imagine Dean and Sam Winchester as his progeny; the actors fit together physically, and that's nice to see. Big time yayness!!! Love Dad and I can't wait to see more of him.

Supernatural! YAY! \o/

Edited to add: Also, gotta love a show that features family bonding, big time brotherly love and devotion, father and son devotion, manly hugs, manly shmoop, and MANLY TEARS! Friggin' awesome!

Seriously, the manly hugs and manly tears are gonna be the death of me.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
YAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAYAY!!!!! I'm incredibly cranky because I'm in the throes of PMS (except for the P part; perhaps a bit TMI but tough titties) and I had to work for three hours today. To alleviate my pain I decided that I would treat myself to something fun and fabulous. I went to Target. As I was very innocently strolling by the entertainment section, the Supernatural DVDs jumped in my cart and refused to leave. Yes! I was as shocked as you are!

Kind thank yous to everyone who offered to hook me up. Again, YAYNESS!!!

Profile

foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
foxmonkey

September 2010

S M T W T F S
   123 4
5 6 7 8 91011
121314151617 18
19 2021 22232425
26 27282930  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 12:39 am
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios