foxmonkey: (zen fen)
So...if you write fic, do you read it as well?

I'm asking because I read a comment in a community where the poster (a writer) said that she rarely reads other people's fic unless it's recommended. This just boggles the hell out of me. I get the theory (bad!fic abounds!) but...well, I just can't wrap my brain around it.

Maybe I'm just a Philistine who'll read anything that's put in her path. ;-) Well, not everything, I do have standards, but, yeah. I don't need a rec to read. Hmmm. Just wondering if this is more common than not.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
At the risk of LJers rolling their eyes at the subject and passing riiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiiight on by...

Does anyone know/has anyone heard/is anyone coordinating the annual popslash Christmas swap-a-thon? I've missed the last couple, and I don't want to miss out this year.

Help a sister out, folks.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I'm a couple of weeks late, but don't hold that against me. Cutting for those of you who may not have seen it yet... Jigga wha? )

10.03.07

Oct. 3rd, 2007 05:51 pm
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
foxmonkey's Big Box o' Birthday Fic Squee!

Yes! It's my birthday and I come bearing fic of all stripes! Journalfen's been wonky this afternoon, so links lead to my writing journal.

I love my friends list! All the comforting messages and hugs when Dad died, all of the welcome back messages and hugs when I popped back into LJ after a (couple of) loooooooooooong absence(s)...you guys are fabulous. I love you all,'cause you not only rock the Casbah, but all compass points radiating outward, upward and sideways therefrom. :-)

YOU ARE ALL MADE OF COOKIES AND KICK-ASS AND SQUEE.

Pop!slash:

Crazy Enough to Try, set in the unfinished dark!Sync universe, another bit of which I posted as Something Different for JuC Day 2006.


Stargate SG-1 (Dan/Cam):

Five Things meme, prompt from Saturn: Five...uh...Four items Daniel's never shown anyone...yet.


Harry Potter:

Five Things meme, prompt from ibythetide: Five...uh...Three times Ron wished he wasn't a Weasley.

Five Things meme, prompt from ibythetide: Five...uh...Two times Ron wished he wasn't fucking a Malfoy.


Firefly/Serenity (post-BDM):

Five Things meme, prompt from pjordha: Five...uh...Two things Zoe says/does that indicate that she's ready to move on, with Mal.


Samurai Champloo:

Fuu Knows Two Boys. Samurai Champloo! Jin is my samurai boyfriend!!! Yes. I'm declaring fic amnesty for this one because I'm not sure where it was headed, and it tells itself quite nicely as is.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Cutting for the one or two Eureka! fans on my friends list. ::crickets chirp:: )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I have a ton of Doctor Who stuff swirling in my brain but I'll pick out a couple of bits in particular.

I started with the Ninth Doctor (Eccleston! The ears!) and loved the hell out of him. When he left, I didn't think I could give my heart to another Doctor, so I didn't watch many of the season two eps with the Ten.

The first companion of color (the competely too gorgeous Freema Agyeman) lured me back to watch the third season. Whee! I am now completely in love with Ten (and Martha!), though I could smack him every time he either doesn't notice - or willingly ignores - Martha's long-lashed gaze of love. Bastage. So!

All of this "Rose is the Doctor's one twu luv" stuff? Sorry, no. I'm catching season two re-runs on BBC America, and the last two episodes have shown that, while he may have let Rose down quite a bit more gently, the Doctor was still pretty firm about the 'don't love me' stuff.

1) School Reunion - The big speech outside the chips shop about not being able to live his whole life with her. And the little, "even someone I..." (paraphrasing badly because I can't remember what preceded it). Yes, I'm sure he was about to say 'love' but I believe it was in the collective "he loves them all" sense. I think Ten stopped because he knew that saying the l-word would be a bad, bad idea, because he didn't mean it the way Rose would think he did.

And when asked if he'd just leave her behind, that little, "No, not you," bit? HAH! I'm sure he said that to Sarah Jane at some point. And to the companion before that, etc. Again, because he loves them all.

Also, Sarah Jane! I now see why so many people love her. I enjoyed getting to know her, and it's fab that the character now has her own series. The actress reminds me quite a bit of Galactica's Mary McDonell, who I love.

2) Girl in the Fireplace - Major OUCH, with the Doctor falling in love with Madame du Pompador. And how badly would that suck, watching the Doctor ride off on a one-way mission (to save the historical timeline, of course), leaving you to find your own way back to your own time?

I know in later episodes we see that there's some kind of homing or automatic protocol to get Rose home safely if something happens (can't remember the ep), but was that part of canon when this episode aired? Hmmm.

In this instance, Martha fared a bit better than Rose. At least when John Smith fell in love with Joan Redfern (bite me HARD, RusT Davies), it was the Doctor's human incarnation, not the Doctor. Then again, Rose was spared all the swanning and swooning, wasn't she? Russell T. Davies, I hate you.

To be pondered at some point in the future: Why does RusT hate Martha?
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Season premiere of Dexter tonight...yay! Now I'll cut so as not to spoil others... Dammit, I just remembered Nathan Fillion on Desperate Housewives. Yeah, about three hours late on that one. ;-p

Cleavers and cutters and knives, oh my! )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
A short piece that follows Genetic Transfer; if you haven't read the first part you should, in order for this part to make sense. It's a short one, too. :-)

I'd written the first one as a one-shot, but people who commented got me thinking, and as usually happens when I start thinking, I started writing :-) A big thank you to [livejournal.com profile] domsbabygrl for the quickie read-through and general fabulousness. :-)

Genetic Transfer, part two.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Doods! Do all of you hate me??? ::cries::
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Whee! Second set of eyes quite sweetly requested to peruse a Doctor Who ficlet, please? ::bats lashes:: It's Ten/Martha, should that make a difference, though it shouldn't because Martha is beyond awesome, dammit.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Harry Potter! Thanks to Scotty for the use of her eyeballs! Post book seven, but pre-craptastic book seven epilogue.

Conceived quite a while ago, so "while" ago that JKR jossed it with the sixth book. Still, any story that contains hot Weasleys can't be all bad, JKR-jossed or not. With that, I give you...

Bookends, Ron/Bill
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Seeing a new meme going around reminded me that I hadn't posted this one yet, so here it is.

Because [livejournal.com profile] joeysdramaqueen is a moo cow and she tagged me ...

1. List seven habits/quirks/facts about yourself.
2. Tag seven people to do the same.
3. Do not tag the person who tagged you or say that you tag whoever wants to do it.


1) If I'm going to work, I feel naked without lipstick and earrings, especially lipstick.

2) I feel naked without jewelry when I'm out and about, but everything comes off when I get home, including my wedding ring.

3) I have the most elaborate set of food rules ever. I never realized it until my husband complained bitterly about trying to cook for the pickiest person on the planet. But I'm not picky, I just have specific guidelines concerning foodstuffs.

4) Barefoot is best! I never wear shoes in or around the house. My brother, on the other hand, always wears shoes, even in the house, just hanging around (Dad did too, now that I think about it). I cannot wrap my brain around this.

5) I play piano by ear.

6) I could eat Chinese every day.

7) Handbags are my favorite accessory. ::swoon::

Sadly, I'm going to disregard the rules regarding tagging seven people to do this. I think about everyone on my friends list who'd have been tagged *has* been tagged already. So! If you're on my friends list and you see this and no one's tagged you, do the meme and say I compelled you to respond simply by sheer force of my indomitable will.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I don't think there are that many Eureka fans on my friends list, but I'll cut anyway because I'm all about the niceness and being considerate and whatnot.

Eureka...whatever the hell the episode was last night. )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
accesshollywood.com

Your Daily Dispatch of Celebrity Shenanigans: September 10, 2007
by Tommy Vergason

OUT OF SYNC: Former ‘N Sync singer JC Chasez says he is currently in talks with other labels after the ‘‘mutual decision’‘ to part ways with longtime label Jive Records, EW.COM reports. ‘‘I want to wipe the slate clean and then take on as many suggestions and ideas [as possible],” he reportedly said. Jive Reps could not immediately be reached for comment by EW.


from cinemablend.com

Chasez And Jive Break Up
By Mack Rawden: 2007-09-08 21:49:38

Break ups are a sad part of life. Sometimes love just isn’t enough and a couple is forced to call it quits. Twelve thousand years ago, in the first recorded split, Lucifer and God parted ways over angelic treatment reform. Some ten thousand years later, Cleopatra and Caesar vacated their relationship after the former whored it up with half of Egypt. A few years ago, Hollywood super couple Brad Pitt and Jennifer Aniston separated after a Jolie got between them. But that’s not even the most horrific. Not by a long shot.

According to Billboard former ‘N Sync member JC Chasez and his record company, Jive, have changed their Facebook status’ to single. Oh the horror! Things seemed great in 2004 when the ex boy band member released his only solo album, Schizophrenic, but over the last few summers, the relationship has distilled amidst rumors of Jive cheating with other musicians. The lyin’ bastard!
It’s unclear where Chasez will take his finished follow-up Kate, but something tells me he’ll eventually find a new label.


mtv.com

R. Kelly's Next Court Date Set; Plus Justin Timberlake, 'American Idol,' Coldplay, JC Chasez & More, In For The Record

JT, 'Idol' bag Emmys; Coldplay promise 'no fat' on fourth LP; former 'NSYNC member pens tune for Backstreet Boys.
Sep 10 2007 3:51 PM EDT

Former 'NSYNC crooner JC Chasez is a free agent. Months after his single "Until Yesterday" was released and his second solo album failed to materialize, Chasez has parted ways with Jive, according to his longtime label. He told EW.com the decision was mutual and that he wanted to "wipe the slate clean and then take on as many suggestions and ideas [as possible]." In an even more startling development, the singer said he recently wrote a song called "Treat Me Right" for the new album from his former nemeses, the Backstreet Boys. ...
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
From BostonHerald.com

Wallpaper route
By Lauren Beckham Falcone
Monday, September 10, 2007

[relevant snippet taken from fashion week coverage]

SEEN: Victoria Beckham posing for the paps at Oscar, along with U.S. Open winner Roger Federer chatting up new best friend Anna Wintour; “90210”-alum Tori Spelling and her husband, Dean McDermott, at Jill Stuart, as was ’NSync’s J.C. Chasez, who planned to head over to John Varvatos later that day. And Chasez caught fellow former Mouseketeer Britney Spears on the MTV Video Music Awards Sunday.

“I don’t know what to think,” he said, shaking his head. “I think I’m still processing it.”
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Entertainment Weekly.com sez...

EW.COM EXCLUSIVE

Chasez Says 'Bye Bye Bye' to Jive
The former 'N Sync star is ready to "wipe the slate clean" and begun shopping for a new label after a "mutual decision" to part ways


By Simon Vozick-Levinson
— Additional reporting by Shirley Halperin
Posted Sep 07, 2007

Former 'N Sync singer JC Chasez is leaving his longtime label, Jive Records, he exclusively tells EW.com

Chasez says he is currently in talks with other labels after the "mutual decision" to part ways with Jive. "I want to wipe the slate clean and then take on as many suggestions and ideas [as possible]." Representatives for Jive could not immediately be reached for comment.

Jive released all of 'N Sync's albums, as well as Chasez's less successful 2004 solo debut, Schizophrenic. Last fall the label released a single, "Until Yesterday," in advance of a planned follow-up CD, but the song failed to gain traction on the radio and the album was never released.

Chasez is also working with other artists as a producer and songwriter, and reveals that he recently wrote a track called "Treat Me Right" for an upcoming album by the Backstreet Boys, 'N Sync's onetime arch rivals.

(includes dreamy pic of the Chasez)
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Billboard sez...

JC Chasez Cuts Ties With Jive
September 07, 2007, 6:50 PM ET
Jonathan Cohen, N.Y.

Former 'N Sync member JC Chasez has cut ties with longtime label Jive Records, which released his lone solo album, 2004's "Schizophrenic." Its follow-up, tentatively titled "Kate," was intended for release by Jive earlier this year but will now appear on a new label to be announced.

Of late, Chasez has worked as a songwriter on projects for Backstreet Boys, Sugababes and Leona Lewis, and has also written collaboratively with Richard Marx and Kara DioGuardi.

As for "Kate," it is tipped to include collaborations with 'N Sync mate Justin Timberlake, Timbaland, Dallas Austin and Billy Steinberg. "It establishes a sound that is specific to me, a mash of all things," Chasez told Billboard.com last year. "I hope it'll be fresh for radio and listeners. In '97 and '98, pop ruled. But now hip-hop is the phenomenon and top 40 radio doesn't play pop records anymore."

On the big screen, look for Chasez in the upcoming independent film "Killer Movie," as well as making guest spots on NBC's "Las Vegas" and the CW's "The Pussycat Dolls Present: The Search for the Next Doll."

- - - - - -

Hmmmm. Now where'd I put my tin hat? ::dances::
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Whee, my first Doctor Who fic! I love Martha Jones like nobody's business. She is completely made of kick-ass and squee, and everyone should love her. Everyone.

Genetic Transfer. Ten/Martha, Doctor Who
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Word around the campfire sez the Chasez has left/is leaving/will be leaving JIVE. I can't say I'm unhappy about it, seeing how he's been royally screwed at every turn.

Will be Googling until my fingers fall off...

Edited to add: Linking to [livejournal.com profile] charlidos' post with much useful information in the comments about how the ownership of JC's songs might shake out. (here)

Profile

foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
foxmonkey

September 2010

S M T W T F S
   123 4
5 6 7 8 91011
121314151617 18
19 2021 22232425
26 27282930  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 24th, 2026 02:45 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios