foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
My work bud and I dissect Project Runway via email the next day; this post is a cobbling together of my messages to her.

Reinvent a Fashion Icon challenge. Last week, but cutting for the spoiler allergic... )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
My work bud and I dissect Project Runway via email the next day; this post is a cobbling together of my messages to her.

Macy's I.N.C. challenge. Cutting for the sen-si-teeve even though it was two weeks ago... )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Gakked from everyone and their dog.

Go here, page through the quotations look until you find five that you think reflect who you are or what you believe. Repost in your journal and tag five friends.

Whatever you fear most has no power - it is your fear that has the power.
Oprah Winfrey (1954 - ), O Magazine

Creativity is allowing yourself to make mistakes. Art is knowing which ones to keep.
Scott Adams (1957 - ), 'The Dilbert Principle'

I appreciate people who are civil, whether they mean it or not. I think: Be civil. Do not cherish your opinion over my feelings. There's a vanity to candor that isn't really worth it. Be kind.
Richard Greenberg, NY Times Magazine, 03-26-2006

The greatest challenge to any thinker is stating the problem in a way that will allow a solution.
Bertrand Russell (1872 - 1970)

Do not judge men by mere appearances; for the light laughter that bubbles on the lip often mantles over the depths of sadness, and the serious look may be the sober veil that covers a divine peace and joy.
Edward Chapin

If no one's tagged you, this hit's for you.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Despite Mr. Timberlake's exhortations to the contrary, I'm pretty sure sexy hasn't gone anywhere from which it needs to return. That said, he croons so stylishly about it that I almost bought his claim. Bringing sexy back, indeed. Nice try, sweetie!

If you haven't guessed by now, I heard SexyBack for the first time today. I'd read various things about the tune but I was still surprised. It's very different, and I *really* liked it. The proof is that I stopped the radio scan when I heard it, and I had no idea what the song was or who was singing. After I realized what it was, I actively tried to hear "Justin" while I listened; if I hadn't heard the hook, I'd don't think I'd have guessed it was him. He sounded good through the distortion, I think it works with his voice, not against it. I think he knocked this one out of the park!

You know, when I first read that JC's album had been pushed back I honestly wasn't surprised. Saddened and disappointed to be sure, but not surprised. I just...don't have the energy to figure that boy out. Wait - that's not quite true, because I do have a few theories that I won't share (nothing none of you haven't already thought of, I'm sure). I wonder if we're looking at another February release? Oh, JC. You troubled, troubled soul, you. ::pets JC, sighs::

On a happier note, 4/5ths of NSync at JC's b-day party! That made me smile. :-) I really miss those guys.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I haven't watched all of it because OMG, I've been talking to my dad for friggin' HOURS, but I did see the opener before the credits. Thank you, Time-Warner for DVR.

It's only one sentence, but I'm cut-tagging because I'm just. that. nice. Daniel! )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
It's a bit late, but here's my entry in the "pick ten LJers on your friends list, say something about them..." meme. With a twist though, because a few of these are group-oriented. Also, I'm not tagging anyone because I'm already late on this thing as it is. ;-) Here we go.

1) SMART. Even after years of reading entries, some of you people still amaze me. And not just smart, funny too, which is a killer combination for me. I'm pleased and proud and honestly, just a bit awed that some of you people still associate with me. I'm proud to know you, believe me.

2) It amazes me that you put so much of yourself out there, it's something I wish sometimes that I could do. I have to admit that when I first friended you, some of your posts made me roll my eyes but as I've watched you over the years I realize that it's just you, you're real. You're completely out there, and I admire that about you.

3) I think we almost completely click, but we're kind of like the proverbial ships that pass in the night - close, but not quite. It saddens me, because I think we'd probably get on like a house afire if we knew each other offlline. TMI, but it kind of hurt a bit to see you click so well with someone else recently. For some reason I was really nervous when we talked and everything I said came out the wrong way, and I didn't quite say what I really meant. Aiii, I'm a doofus. ;-)

4) I'm social but waaaay too private about some things, so I want to tell two of you that I really love you like crazy. My long LJ hiatus certainly didn't help matters, but I'm taking the opportunity now to let you both know that you mean a lot to me, even if I'm a shit about showing it. I've probably told each of you something to that effect at least once, so...yeah.

5) We met, we clicked, we...haven't done anything since! So, we didn't click? Anyway, I miss you. As above, my LJ hiatus didn't help, I'm sure. I wish we'd been able to keep in touch - which sounds kind of stupid seeing how we've got this very public forum in which to interact. :-) Still, we do the comment thing, so that's something.

6) There's a whole group of you I've never interacted with. I've read your entries but never commented, mostly because it feels awkward. Even though we've friended each other, would you welcome a comment from me? Would you wonder who the hell I am? Would I say something stupid? Oy, the self-inflicted drama!

7) If we've interacted and I like you and I haven't friended you, it's because I'm for shit at checking my friends info. I used to check quite a bit, but I hated it when people unfriended me, so I stopped checking my friends stats as regularly! If that makes me sound like the world's biggest loser well, maybe I am. Anyway, I've been checking the page and I'm slooooowly adding people I recognize.

8) I hate being filtered. ;-p Again, my LJ hiatus probably didn't help. :-(

9) I like you and you seem interesting. I'd like to get to know you better! [Seems vague, but that really is directed at someone :-)]

10) Dude, I just realized that you unfriended me! I thought you liked me?

JC, baby!

Jul. 27th, 2006 08:56 pm
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Check out JC's completely adorable rocker face, via this post in ohnotheydidnt. Eeee! Short hair again! He looks great, goofy faces notwithstanding. And look at those arms. Yes, not that we need it, but further proof that JC Chasez continues to be hot.

Is it me, or has JC gotten even better looking? ::hubba, hubba::

Edited to add: I can't stop looking at these pictures! In case anyone was wondering, the Chasez still owns me.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I read a niblet yesterday via ohnotheydidnt about Lance coming out in People magazine, and lo and behold, I read it on Google News this morning about 14 minutes after the press release hit the internetz. LANCE! I'm sorry that he was hounded into it, but I'm glad that he can finally be out and happy and live his life without this hanging over his head. He doesn't have to worry about people finding out now, BECAUSE THEY KNOW! Every time I thought about him today I smiled. I'm glad that he's happy, but I wish he had his old nose. ;-) LANCE!!!!!! Yay. :-)

Okay, what's the deal with Vox? I see people setting up accounts all over my friends list, but I still don't know *why.* Learn me! Is it truly the new black, or just a new and temporary shiny?

I've been listening to the first NSYNC album lately, and I've decided that I Drive Myself Crazy is (probably) the ultimate NSync song for me as in, when I hear it, all of my NSync love hits me right between the eyes. God, I love those guys so much. I want them back. :-(

LANCE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! YAY!

So I'll have it in my LJ for ever and always... MTV News article/interview )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
My thoughts on Friday's SG-1 episode, thoughtfully cut-tagged for the spoiler allergic.

*Team* episode, finally! )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
edit entry

Recs for: Doctor Who, popslash, Stargate SG-1, Stargate: Atlantis, Samurai Champloo, Harry Potter, Firefly . Serenity, Merlin. Behind the cut... )

Mugen!

Jul. 21st, 2006 11:40 pm
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Man, I love me some Samurai Champloo. I just saw the baseball episode on Adult Swim on Demand and nearly laughed myself off the bed. Funniest episode ever, and that's saying a lot.

Anyway, look! It's Mugen (scroll down)! How adorable is he? Twelve inches of vinyl and fabric, and it's one of the most limited limited series ever: twenty dolls. ::boggles:: Twenty pieces? The page is in a language I don't understand, so I have no idea how much he'll be going for. I wouldn't be surprised if he'll cost at least a couple of hundred bucks. I want one. ::cries::
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Stargate rant. Don't come in if you don't want to know my personal feelings concerning the show's executive producer! )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Cutting for those who don't want to be spoiled... )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I seem to say this a lot, but that's probably because it's true: MY HUSBAND IS INSANE. You may or may not have seen this, his first attempt at doll porn. Well.

Last night he asked if I'd seen anything interesting in the computer room. I hadn't noticed anything, mostly because I'd popped in, grabbed the laptop and popped out again. I was about to go to bed, so I didn't think about it until I went in to get the laptop this evening.

Never one to rest on his laurels, Hubs!monkey got even more creative this time around. He's incorporating props now, doll stands, to be exact. I'm pretty sure the Momoko doll people wouldn't be pleased. Cut-tagged for the modest among you.

God help us all. )

Life with hubs!monkey is many things, but it's never boring. ;-)
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Gakked big-time from ohnotheydidnt - a long, *fabulously* dishy interview with Tim Gunn of Project Runway fame. He definitely tells it as he sees it! I was glad to see that it's not one of those "Oh, I'd love to tell you about that, but I can't" kinds of things. Tim's interview with Maureen Ryan appears here in The Watcher: A Chicago Tribune Web log.

OH MY GOD, I knew I hated Nina Garcia for a reason. Tim Gunn figured it was between Daniel and Santino. The judges liked Daniel's stuff. None of them were even discussing Chloe's things. The Fashion Week finale was all about Daniel, and it looked like he was going to win. So, what the hell happened? Tim Gunn speaks:

The runway deliberation went on for two hours. I was sitting with the legal department, and we were whispering, going ‘It’s Daniel, it’s Santino, it’s Daniel, it’s Santino.’

About an hour and 40 minutes into this, Nina goes into this rhapsodic soliloquy about Chloe and her collection, and throws into it all of her successes during [the season], and how everything’s been memorable around. It was going to Daniel, and [Nina] turned everybody around to Chloe. It was the most remarkable thing I’ve ever seen.


[snip]

She was successfully persuasive. She took it away from Daniel. Santino was never in the running. For a while he was, because of how they were talking about him, but they weren’t talking about Chloe at all! It was quite something to watch.

Oh my God. My eyes are *still* bleeding, just thinking about Chloe's awful prom dresses. Nina Garcia has no business anywhere near any magazine having to do with fashion or beauty. The woman's obviously addle-brained.

Unfortunately, it seems that Daniel V. has turned into a little diva, turning down fabulous job offers left and right. Also in Tim Gunn's own words:

My darling little Dan has become a terrible diva. And it’s really unattractive. [snip] And now he’s offending people. He’s offending the press. [snip] He’s been offered several jobs. He’s turned down everything. They’re not good enough for him. [snip] He’s not working for anyone. He’s going to every party in the world, he’s out all night. I’m just concerned. When I talk to people, and they say, ‘Oh, I just called him to interview him and I got a lot of really bad attitude out of him.’ …

Oh, Daniel. ::le sigh::

I love Tim Gunn.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Cut-tagged for anyone who doesn't want to be spoiled. The 4400. Shooooot me. )
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
So, Hubs!monkey went to the grocery store a while ago and came home with something new and different. A camouflage melon, so named because of the mottled green skin. It's also known as a frog skin melon so yeah, I don't think you'd be encouraged to pick one up on the strength of the moniker alone. Obviously aware of this, the Giant Eagle bigwigs saw fit to post food ladies in the produce section with freebies of this melon. Hubs tasted it, liked it, brought one home.

OH MY GOD, with the deliciousness. It's hard to explain the flavor, which was very elusive. Kind of like honeydew, but not, kind of a hint of a whisper of a nuance of cantaloupe, but way not. *Very* juicy, like, juice-in-the-bottom-of-the-bowl juicy, and crazy sweet with the texture and firm softness of a ripe honeydew. Seriously, this stuff is sell-your-kid good.

We slurped this melon down like starved monkeys on crack. I proclaimed it my new favorite melon, and we agreed that a new foodstuff had been added to our regular rotation. He went off to putter a bit, and I returned to the Project Runway marathon. About a half hour after the feast, hubs walked in, mildly indignant, waving the checkout tape in one hand. "They charged me 14.95 for that melon! I'm going back!" He'd mentioned how relatively inexpensive it was, so he was a bit irritated that he now had to go back to the store to correct their mistake.

About a half hour later, hubs walked in and said, "That price was right! I can't believe it!" Turns out that unlike most melons, it's not priced per piece, but by the pound. The woman at the service desk very kindly offered to let him return the melon, but hubs admitted that it was a little too late for that. ;-)

Bleh.

Jul. 2nd, 2006 06:33 pm
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
I'm trying to write, but I can't concentrate -- I don't think the Twilight Zone marathon is helping any. I saw one that I don't remember, but it was on the extremely lame side, so I hadn't missed much. ;-p

Nothing else is going on, so this was an extreme waste of a post.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
Holy bejeebus, I just had the scare of my life.

I call Dad every night at 9:00. He had a sore throat last night, so I knew he wasn't feeling well. I called tonight around ten after, no answer. I called again at 9:15, same thing. I called his next door neighbors -- always my fallback if he doesn't answer -- but there was no answer there, either. I called again at 9:20 and 9:25, alternating between the two numbers, starting to get seriously freaked.

Since it gets dark so late I know there's always the chance that he's still outside puttering around, but he's usually in by 9:25 at the latest. I called again at 9:30 and when he picked up the phone I burst into tears. Turns out that the neighbors are all outside cleaning and prepping their pool for the 4th, and the old man was out back hanging with them. My heart is still beating a mile a minute.

I'm very pleased to write "Dad, on the phone" in the Music: box below. ::relieved::

God, that gave me a massive headache.
foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
It feels like years since I've posted, though in LJ terms, a month is a year. Kinda like dog years, a little. But completely different.

Watching Stargate: Atlantis at the moment, enjoying, as ever, Ronon's tall, golden gorgeousness. Honestly, is there a reason for one man to be that beautiful? Somewhere in the world, some gnarly, ugly little dude is bawling his eyes out.

Workwise, I continue to help out with the "temporary" assignment I received SIX MONTHS AGO. I'm kicking ass, and it's a major piss that when annual assessment time rolls around, my contribution will be forgotten. Well, not forgotten so much as mentioned and then glossed over. "Thanks for helping out! Now let's promote someone else who did half as much work." Bastards.

I've been getting in touch with my slash roots while I've been away, through numerous viewings of Star Trek! The original series, mind you, not one of those watered down offshoots! Star Trek! I'd forgotten how much I enjoyed it's cheesy goodness. Slash may have been born with Kirk and Spock, but even with my extra-strength slash goggles glued firmly to my head, I just don't see it. What I do see is Spock/Uhura. Eeeee! I can so see the two of them together. I recorded an episode last night, "Assignment: Earth" in which Spock and Kirk beam down to Earth 1968, both of them wearing suits. I'm here to testify that you haven't seen sexy until you've seen Mr. Spock in a suit. Almost inconceivable hotness, people. There's a particular bit where, back on the Enterprise but still in Earth garb, Spock and Kirk are talking to someone in the transporter room. I rewound repeatedly to ogle Spock in that suit, looking tall, cool and refined. Oh my goodness, so sexy.

I enjoyed the Doctor Who finale, though I could have done without that kiss. Christopher Eccleston is gone! Waaaaaaaah! Happily, the new Doctor seems intriguing enough for me to give him a chance when the new season rolls around. Speaking of Doctor Who, I was pleased when he and Captain Jack shared that sweet goodbye kiss, and not a huge deal was made of it. No jokes, no twitching, no funny faces when it was over. I can only imagine how American TV would have handled the situation. Yay! Doctor Who!

In news that saddens no one but me, my iPod is dying, and the warranty expired like, a year ago. Bastard. Went to Radio Shack to buy a new one and they only had one in the store, a Nano. HAH! I laugh in the Nano's face! I need the big one, baby, with more storage room than I'll ever need. Sadly, I want white and there isn't a single one in their district. I'll be ordering online, it seems. This tragic lack of music in my life leads directly to...JC!

Two JC bits have caught me by surprise in the last few weeks.

PEOPLE also names eight Bachelors 'Sexy & Sizzling' -- including former 'N Syncer JC Chasez. Album promo, or do the editors truly believe he's sexy and sizzling? JC! Sexy and sizzling, indeed.

This one made me shake my head. Former 'N SYNC star JC CHASEZ used the pain of his breakup from DESPERATE HOUSEWIVES star EVA LONGORIA to inspire the ballads on his latest album. No, JC, nooooooooooooooooo! It's cheap and cheesy, don't do it! This blurb notes his People Magazine Sexy and Single mention, above. Oh, JC.

And on that note, it's time to call Dad.

JC!

Profile

foxmonkey: Robot Snowman with Flowers (Default)
foxmonkey

September 2010

S M T W T F S
   123 4
5 6 7 8 91011
121314151617 18
19 2021 22232425
26 27282930  

Syndicate

RSS Atom

Most Popular Tags

Style Credit

Expand Cut Tags

No cut tags
Page generated Mar. 25th, 2026 12:26 pm
Powered by Dreamwidth Studios